Thursday, 22 March 2012

Thursday, 8 March 2012


Primary and secondary colors in our life.
Grade 1S

Books read: Red is the best by Kathy Stinson.

Handouts: Canada's Food Guide and its colors.

Activity: Blow color friends and Leaf friends



1.     Paper

2.     Paint (4 colors)

3.     Straws (cut in half)

4.     Glue sticks or liquid glue

5.     Scissors

6.     Paint mixing container (yogurt lids or butter tubs)

7.     Googly eyes

8.     Leaves to trace

9.     Spoons





1.     Cut straws in half

2.     Put glue in a container and keep popsicle sticks and googly eyes

3.     Dilute paint with water






Give each student a paper, pencil and leaf, and a leaf to trace (help improve fine motor skills)


Let the students trace the leaf


Students to put googly eyes on the leaf. (Leaf friends)


Dilute paint with a little water to give it a consistency that's easy for blowing. (Depends on what type of paper is use. Construction or card stock or just plain paper)


Put a spoonful of one color  at one time in  one location on each students paper paper.


Pass the straw and request the students to blow. Blow each little pool of paint in many directions with straws. Try to see how far you can make it spread. Watch little friendly monster limbs and tentacles magically appear!


Repeat with the other primary colors.


In a different location on the same paper mix 2 primary colors. We mixed blue and yellow to make a green friend.


After color friends have dried add eyes on top of the tentacle-like points. We used googly eyes, but drawing them in would have worked well too.


Students can cut out shapes and make different types of friends


Note: If there is too much color then fold the paper in half and the students can give a name to their shape changing friends such as butterflies, bats, or trees.



Output was 2 craft activities:

1.     Googly eyes leaf friends

2.     Color friends



1.     Students learned about primary and secondary colors with this art activity

2.     Students compared the colors with the food guide.

Tuesday, 6 March 2012

i·den·ti·ty  (-dnt-t)
n. pl. i·den·ti·ties
1. The collective aspect of the set of characteristics by which a thing is definitively recognizable or known: "If the broadcast group is the financial guts of the company, the news division is its public identity" (Bill Powell).
2. The set of behavioral or personal characteristics by which an individual is recognizable as a member of a group.
3. The quality or condition of being the same as something else.
4. The distinct personality of an individual regarded as a persisting entity; individuality.
5. Information, such as an identification number, used to establish or prove a person's individuality, as in providing access to a credit account.
6. Mathematics
a. An equation that is satisfied by any number that replaces the letter for which the equation is defined.
b. Identity element.

March 7: Read Aloud Day

Monday, 5 March 2012

Why are there four lions in Ashoka Chakra?

The National Emblem of India has an origin steeped in the culture and myriad colors of India. A symbol of the modern Indian republic, the emblem is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion, capital of Emperor Ashoka the Great as preserved in the Sarnath Museum situated near Varanasi in the north Indian province of Uttar Pradesh.

Lion is a symbol of victory and four lions means victory over four directions east, west, south and north of Ashoka the great. Also, Ashoka the great was called a chakravarthi or a great emperor over all directions.


Lion is also the symbol of mightiness and bravery.
Our National Emblem, modeled on the Lion Capital, features 3 lions.  The fourth lion is hidden from sight since it is positioned at the rear end; so is the bell-shaped lotus flower situated beneath. The frieze beneath the lions is shown with a wheel in the center, a bull on the right, a galloping horse on the left, and outlines of Dharma Chakras on the extreme right and left. The wheel at the centre
of the abacus symbolizes the "Dharma Chakra".
The three lions (the one hidden from the front view excluded) represent power, courage and confidence, and rest on a circular abacus girded by four smaller animals that are
separated by intervening wheels.


These four animals are the guardians of the four directions:


·      the lion of the north,

·      the elephant of the east,

·      the horse of the south and

·      the bull of the west.

My Very Educated Mother Just Sent Us Nine Pizzas Library Class

My Very Educated Mother Just Sent Us Nine Pizzas Library Class

Mercury: Smallest Planet, Whirls-Roman god (swift messenger)

Venus: Sparkling.  Named for Roman goddess of love and beauty.

Earth: Old German word meaning 'dirt'  Blue color as it has water.

Mars: Red. Greek god of war.

Jupiter: Jove, god of Romans

Saturn: Roman god of harvest

Uranus: Ancient Greek god of the heavens

Neptune: Blue. Roman god of the sea. Dwarf planet.

March 7: Read Aloud Day